Absenteeism in the Utah legislature, 2010

During each year's 45-day legislative session, legislators cast hundreds of floor votes. That means they have 100s of opportunities to miss votes. But some legislators miss far more votes than others. In the table below, I have listed the percent of floor votes that each legislator missed in 2010. I have listed the total number of votes cast each year in the top row. (Remember that the number of votes will be higher than the number of bills, since a bill must survive several votes to become a law.) Enjoy.

For some analysis of these data, visit UtahDataPoints.com. In particular:

Which year would you like to view?

Years. By default, you will see averages from the 2007-2019 general sessions. Not all legislators served in all these years, of course. You can examine one single year in detail by clicking one of the links below.

Select a year: 2007 - 2008 - 2009 - 2010 - 2011 - 2012 - 2013 - 2014 - 2015 - 2016 - 2017 - 2018 - 2019 - Average (2007-2019)

The data

Legislator Party Year Chamber # missed votes # votes held % missed votes
Aagard, Douglas C.R2010House116141.8%
Adams, J. StuartR2010Senate697868.8%
Allen, Sheryl L.R2010House266144.2%
Anderson, JohnnyR2010House186142.9%
Barrus, Roger E.R2010House186142.9%
Beck, Trisha S.D2010House26140.3%
Bigelow, RonR2010House9261415.0%
Bird, JimR2010House56140.8%
Biskupski, JackieD2010House346145.5%
Black, LauraD2010House166142.6%
Bramble, Curtis S.R2010Senate18378623.3%
Brown, Melvin R.R2010House566149.1%
Buttars, D. ChrisR2010Senate19878625.2%
Chavez-Houck, RebeccaD2010House26140.3%
Christensen, Allen M.R2010Senate11778614.9%
Clark, DavidR2010House9461415.3%
Clark, Stephen D.R2010House516148.3%
Cosgrove, Tim M.D2010House66141.0%
Davis, GeneD2010Senate547866.9%
Daw, Bradley M.R2010House426146.8%
Dayton, MargaretR2010Senate567867.1%
Dee, Brad L.R2010House526148.5%
Dougall, JohnR2010House416146.7%
Draxler, Jack R.R2010House376146.0%
Duckworth, SusanD2010House466147.5%
Dunnigan, James A.R2010House196143.1%
Edwards, Rebecca P.R2010House226143.6%
Escamilla, Luz RoblesD2010Senate11278614.2%
Ferry, Ben C.R2010House296144.7%
Fisher, Janice M.D2010House226143.6%
Fisher, JulieR2010House376146.0%
Fowlke, Lorie D.R2010House7461412.1%
Frank, Craig A.R2010House236143.7%
Froerer, GageR2010House176142.8%
Garn, Kevin S.R2010House12261419.9%
Gibson, Francis D.R2010House346145.5%
Gibson, Kerry W.R2010House8461413.7%
Goodfellow, Brent H.D2010Senate367864.6%
Gowans, James R.D2010House13261421.5%
Greenwood, Richard A.R2010House186142.9%
Greiner, Jon J.R2010Senate597867.5%
Grover, KeithR2010House116141.8%
Hansen, Neil A.D2010House306144.9%
Harper, Wayne A.R2010House486147.8%
Hemingway, Lynn N.D2010House306144.9%
Hendrickson, Neal B.D2010House546148.8%
Herrod, Christopher N.R2010House486147.8%
Hillyard, Lyle W.R2010Senate24878631.6%
Hinkins, David P.R2010Senate9178611.6%
Hughes, Gregory H.R2010House10761417.4%
Hunsaker, Fred RR2010House446147.2%
Hutchings, Eric K.R2010House11661418.9%
Ipson, Don L.R2010House256144.1%
Jenkins, Scott K.R2010Senate557867.0%
Johnson, Christine A.D2010House456147.3%
Jones, Patricia W.D2010Senate377864.7%
King, Brian S.D2010House106141.6%
Kiser, Todd E.R2010House186142.9%
Knudson, Peter C.R2010Senate357864.5%
Last, Bradley G.R2010House396146.4%
Liljenquist, Daniel R.R2010Senate20378625.8%
Litvack, DavidD2010House336145.4%
Lockhart, Rebecca D.R2010House456147.3%
Madsen, Mark B.R2010Senate21278627.0%
Mascaro, Steven R.R2010House9761415.8%
Mathis, John G.R2010House196143.1%
Mayne, KarenD2010Senate457865.7%
McAdams, Benjamin M.D2010Senate8978611.3%
McIff, Kay L.R2010House8361413.5%
Menlove, Ronda RuddR2010House476147.7%
Morgan, Karen W.D2010Senate787869.9%
Morley, Michael T.R2010House496148.0%
Moss, Carol SpackmanD2010House416146.7%
Newbold, Merlynn T.R2010House546148.8%
Niederhauser, Wayne L.R2010Senate14778618.7%
Noel, Michael E.R2010House596149.6%
Oda, CurtisR2010House196143.1%
Okerlund, RalphR2010Senate347864.3%
Painter, PatrickR2010House12961421.0%
Poulson, Marie H.D2010House46140.7%
Powell, KraigR2010House106141.6%
Ray, PaulR2010House6361410.3%
Riesen, PhilD2010House136142.1%
Romero, Ross I.D2010Senate397865.0%
Sandstrom, Stephen E.R2010House276144.4%
Seegmiller, F. JayD2010House106141.6%
Seelig, Jennifer M.D2010House7261411.7%
Stephenson, Howard A.R2010Senate13278616.8%
Stevenson, Jerry W.R2010Senate497866.2%
Stowell, Dennis E.R2010Senate457865.7%
Sumsion, Kenneth W.R2010House546148.8%
Urquhart, Stephen H.R2010Senate10178612.8%
Valentine, John L.R2010Senate8878611.2%
Van Tassell, Kevin T.R2010Senate747869.4%
Vickers, Evan J.R2010House206143.3%
Waddoups, Michael G.R2010Senate367864.6%
Wallis, C. BrentR2010House256144.1%
Watkins, Christine F.D2010House156142.4%
Webb, R. CurtR2010House326145.2%
Wheatley, Mark A.D2010House166142.6%
Wilcox, Ryan D.R2010House466147.5%
Wiley, Larry B.D2010House156142.4%
Wimmer, CarlR2010House6561410.6%
Wright, BillR2010House8261413.4%