Welcome, visitor! Log in

"Nay" votes in the Utah legislature, 2010

During each year's 45-day legislative session, legislators cast hundreds of floor votes. Most of those votes pass by overwhelming majorities. That's not surprising; unpopular bills die in committee, so the only bills that make it to the floor are those that have support.

Some legislatoves vote "nay" far more often than others. Voting "nay" is strongly correlated with partisanship, since most bills that make it out of committee reflect the majority party's values more than the minority's. Just for fun, I have listed the percent of floor votes that each legislator voted "nay" on in 2010. I have also listed the total number of votes held. (Remember that the number of votes will be higher than the number of bills, since a bill must survive several votes to become a law.) Enjoy.

Which year would you like to view?

Years. By default, you will see averages from the 2007-2017 general sessions. Not all legislators served in all these years, of course. You can examine one single year in detail by clicking one of the links below.

Select a year: 2007 - 2008 - 2009 - 2010 - 2011 - 2012 - 2013 - 2014 - 2015 - 2016 - 2017 - Average (2007-2017)

The data

Legislator Party Year Chamber # nay votes # votes held % nay votes
Aagard, Douglas C.R2010House296144.7%
Adams, J. StuartR2010Senate237862.9%
Allen, Sheryl L.R2010House316145.0%
Anderson, JohnnyR2010House7561412.2%
Barrus, Roger E.R2010House346145.5%
Beck, Trisha S.D2010House396146.4%
Bigelow, RonR2010House406146.5%
Bird, JimR2010House556149.0%
Biskupski, JackieD2010House6561410.6%
Black, LauraD2010House546148.8%
Bramble, Curtis S.R2010Senate197862.4%
Brown, Melvin R.R2010House156142.4%
Buttars, D. ChrisR2010Senate347864.3%
Chavez-Houck, RebeccaD2010House6861411.1%
Christensen, Allen M.R2010Senate227862.8%
Clark, DavidR2010House356145.7%
Clark, Stephen D.R2010House256144.1%
Cosgrove, Tim M.D2010House546148.8%
Davis, GeneD2010Senate527866.6%
Daw, Bradley M.R2010House486147.8%
Dayton, MargaretR2010Senate637868.0%
Dee, Brad L.R2010House326145.2%
Dougall, JohnR2010House9861416.0%
Draxler, Jack R.R2010House246143.9%
Duckworth, SusanD2010House586149.4%
Dunnigan, James A.R2010House366145.9%
Edwards, Rebecca P.R2010House156142.4%
Escamilla, Luz RoblesD2010Senate567867.1%
Ferry, Ben C.R2010House356145.7%
Fisher, Janice M.D2010House6361410.3%
Fisher, JulieR2010House386146.2%
Fowlke, Lorie D.R2010House346145.5%
Frank, Craig A.R2010House6461410.4%
Froerer, GageR2010House336145.4%
Garn, Kevin S.R2010House206143.3%
Gibson, Francis D.R2010House456147.3%
Gibson, Kerry W.R2010House376146.0%
Goodfellow, Brent H.D2010Senate577867.3%
Gowans, James R.D2010House346145.5%
Greenwood, Richard A.R2010House386146.2%
Greiner, Jon J.R2010Senate597867.5%
Grover, KeithR2010House426146.8%
Hansen, Neil A.D2010House10161416.4%
Harper, Wayne A.R2010House566149.1%
Hemingway, Lynn N.D2010House6261410.1%
Hendrickson, Neal B.D2010House506148.1%
Herrod, Christopher N.R2010House416146.7%
Hillyard, Lyle W.R2010Senate337864.2%
Hinkins, David P.R2010Senate297863.7%
Hughes, Gregory H.R2010House356145.7%
Hunsaker, Fred RR2010House196143.1%
Hutchings, Eric K.R2010House246143.9%
Ipson, Don L.R2010House206143.3%
Jenkins, Scott K.R2010Senate367864.6%
Johnson, Christine A.D2010House6761410.9%
Jones, Patricia W.D2010Senate427865.3%
King, Brian S.D2010House6861411.1%
Kiser, Todd E.R2010House6361410.3%
Knudson, Peter C.R2010Senate187862.3%
Last, Bradley G.R2010House346145.5%
Liljenquist, Daniel R.R2010Senate157861.9%
Litvack, DavidD2010House486147.8%
Lockhart, Rebecca D.R2010House486147.8%
Madsen, Mark B.R2010Senate397865.0%
Mascaro, Steven R.R2010House256144.1%
Mathis, John G.R2010House526148.5%
Mayne, KarenD2010Senate417865.2%
McAdams, Benjamin M.D2010Senate567867.1%
McIff, Kay L.R2010House116141.8%
Menlove, Ronda RuddR2010House346145.5%
Morgan, Karen W.D2010Senate397865.0%
Morley, Michael T.R2010House8461413.7%
Moss, Carol SpackmanD2010House516148.3%
Newbold, Merlynn T.R2010House566149.1%
Niederhauser, Wayne L.R2010Senate167862.0%
Noel, Michael E.R2010House366145.9%
Oda, CurtisR2010House496148.0%
Okerlund, RalphR2010Senate177862.2%
Painter, PatrickR2010House186142.9%
Poulson, Marie H.D2010House446147.2%
Powell, KraigR2010House216143.4%
Ray, PaulR2010House346145.5%
Riesen, PhilD2010House6361410.3%
Romero, Ross I.D2010Senate707868.9%
Sandstrom, Stephen E.R2010House506148.1%
Seegmiller, F. JayD2010House6361410.3%
Seelig, Jennifer M.D2010House376146.0%
Stephenson, Howard A.R2010Senate537866.7%
Stevenson, Jerry W.R2010Senate197862.4%
Stowell, Dennis E.R2010Senate417865.2%
Sumsion, Kenneth W.R2010House6961411.2%
Urquhart, Stephen H.R2010Senate247863.1%
Valentine, John L.R2010Senate277863.4%
Van Tassell, Kevin T.R2010Senate227862.8%
Vickers, Evan J.R2010House206143.3%
Waddoups, Michael G.R2010Senate307863.8%
Wallis, C. BrentR2010House326145.2%
Watkins, Christine F.D2010House516148.3%
Webb, R. CurtR2010House266144.2%
Wheatley, Mark A.D2010House596149.6%
Wilcox, Ryan D.R2010House556149.0%
Wiley, Larry B.D2010House6261410.1%
Wimmer, CarlR2010House8461413.7%
Wright, BillR2010House7261411.7%