Menu Adam R Brown

List of legislators in the Iowa upper chamber

Click to enlarge chart Click to enlarge chart Click to enlarge chart Click to enlarge chart

This list of legislators is accurate as of February 2011. Click on a member's name to learn more about him or her.

Note that the "education" column below occasionally has errors. I wrote a program that attempted to read each legislator's educational history and code it into one of a few categories. The program worked well, but with occasional errors. You can see the full educational history for each legislator by clicking on his/her name.

Chamber Member Party Born Gender Education
Iowa (upper) Bill Anderson Republican Male High school
Iowa (upper) Robert Bacon Republican Male
Iowa (upper) Merlin E Bartz Republican 1961 Male Bachelors
Iowa (upper) Daryl Beall Democratic 1946 Male Masters
Iowa (upper) Jerry Behn Republican 1954 Male High school
Iowa (upper) Rick Bertrand Republican 1969 Male Bachelors
Iowa (upper) Dennis H Black Democratic 1939 Male Masters
Iowa (upper) Nancy Jane Boettger Republican 1943 Female Bachelors
Iowa (upper) Joe L Bolkcom Democratic 1956 Male Masters
Iowa (upper) Tod R Bowman Democratic 1965 Male Masters
Iowa (upper) Eric Mark Chelgren Republican 1968 Male Associate
Iowa (upper) Thomas G Courtney Democratic Male
Iowa (upper) Swati A Dandekar Democratic 1951 Female Bachelors
Iowa (upper) Jeff Danielson Democratic 1970 Male Masters
Iowa (upper) Dick L Dearden Democratic 1938 Male High school
Iowa (upper) William C Dix Republican 1962 Male Bachelors
Iowa (upper) William A Dotzler Democratic Male Bachelors
Iowa (upper) Robert E Dvorsky Democratic 1948 Male Masters
Iowa (upper) Joni Ernst Republican Female
Iowa (upper) Randy Feenstra Republican Male Masters
Iowa (upper) Eugene S Fraise Democratic 1932 Male High school
Chamber Member Party Born Gender Education
Iowa (upper) Sandra H Greiner Republican, Conservative, Democratic/Farmer/Labor 1945 Female Some college
Iowa (upper) Michael E Gronstal Democratic 1950 Male Bachelors
Iowa (upper) James F Hahn Republican 1935 Male High school
Iowa (upper) Shawn Hamerlinck Republican Male Masters
Iowa (upper) Tom Hancock Democratic Male
Iowa (upper) Jack G Hatch Democratic 1950 Male Masters
Iowa (upper) Robert M Hogg Democratic 1967 Male Law degree
Iowa (upper) Wally E Horn Democratic 1933 Male Masters
Iowa (upper) Hubert M Houser Republican 1942 Male Some college
Iowa (upper) Pam Jochum Democratic 1954 Female Bachelors
Iowa (upper) David J Johnson Republican Male Bachelors
Iowa (upper) Tim L Kapucian Republican Male Bachelors
Iowa (upper) Steve Kettering Republican Male Masters
Iowa (upper) John Patrick Kibbie Democratic 1929 Male High school
Iowa (upper) Matthew W Mccoy Democratic 1966 Male Bachelors
Iowa (upper) Paul Mckinley Republican Male Bachelors
Iowa (upper) Herman C Quirmbach Democratic 1950 Male Doctorate
Iowa (upper) Amanda Ragan Democratic 1954 Female Bachelors
Iowa (upper) Thomas J Rielly Democratic Male Bachelors
Iowa (upper) Brian H Schoenjahn Democratic Male Masters
Iowa (upper) Joe M Seng Democratic 1946 Male Bachelors
Iowa (upper) James A Seymour Republican 1939 Male Some college
Chamber Member Party Born Gender Education
Iowa (upper) Roby Smith Republican Male Bachelors
Iowa (upper) Steven J Sodders Democratic Male Associate
Iowa (upper) Kent Sorenson Republican 1972 Male High school
Iowa (upper) Pat Ward Republican Female Bachelors
Iowa (upper) Jack Whitver Republican
Iowa (upper) Mary Jo Wilhelm Democratic Female
Iowa (upper) Brad Zaun Republican Male Bachelors

Featured links: Who serves as legislator?

Click these links to see how education, age, gender, etc. vary among legislators from state to state.