Utah Legislature Internship

Poli 397, winter 2017

Tuesday, November 1st, 2016

Welcome!

Congratulations on being admitted to the Utah legislative internship program for winter 2017.

The "syllabus" link at right will show you a combined syllabus for Poli 397 and Poli 399r. Take a look around.

You should have no other commitments between January 9 and March 9. Do not register for any classes, not even in the BYU Salt Lake Center, and do not expect to have any other employment. Do not schedule your wedding or anything else during this period.

I look forward to meeting all of you. You are welcome to come by my office (772 SWKT) any time to introduce yourself.

For students only

Important dates

  • 3 Jan 2017 (Tue)
    • Constituent survey skills
    • Check
  • 5 Jan 2017 (Thu)
    • Bill tracking
  • 6 Jan 2017 (Fri)
    • LRGC training day
  • 9 Jan 2017 (Mon)
    • Constituent survey skills
  • 18 Jan 2017 (Wed)
    • Final exam opens
  • 19 Jan 2017 (Thu)
    • Final exam closes
  • 23 Jan 2017 (Mon)
    • First day of session
  • 10 Feb 2017 (Fri)
    • Mid-session report
  • 24 Feb 2017 (Fri)
    • Term paper proposal
  • 7 Mar 2017 (Tue)
    • Evaluation letter reminder
  • 9 Mar 2017 (Thu)
    • Sine die
  • 14 Mar 2017 (Tue)
    • Post-session discussion
  • 16 Mar 2017 (Thu)
    • Portfolio and evaluation early submissions
  • 24 Mar 2017 (Fri)
    • Portfolio and evaluation
  • 31 Mar 2017 (Fri)
    • Term paper early submissions
  • 11 Apr 2017 (Tue)
    • Term paper